Simplicity

by allisoncoyle

Image

 

 

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.” ― Confucius

 

“As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.”  ― Henry David Thoreau

 

“Manifest plainness,
Embrace simplicity,
Reduce selfishness,
Have few desires.”
― Lao Tzu

 

“Possessions, outward success, publicity, luxury – to me these have always been contemptible. I believe that a simple and unassuming manner of life is best for everyone, best for both the body and the mind.” ― Albert Einstein

 

Simplicity. According to many of the most brilliant philosophers and writers of all time, we should strive for simplicity. A complicated life is no life at all.

So why do we choose to make things so complicated? Why do I sit in traffic for three hours every day? Why, at the ripe age of twenty, do I already feel burnt out with life? Why do I feel forty years old when my peers feel every bit their youth? 

Perhaps I need to start over. Perhaps I need a clean slate. 

Perhaps the world of political writing and formal engagements is not what my soul is yearning after. Maybe I’ve been fooled into thinking this is what I want…that scraping and clawing to live in this pretentious city overrun by social-climbers is worth fighting for.

I’m looking for happiness. And it isn’t here.

